Skip to Knowledge Base content

IRB Protocol Document Locked for Editing

Overview:

WVU+kc will not allow more than one person at a time to edit an IRB protocol. Either someone else is currently working in the protocol or the user didn't close out of the protocol by clicking the close button at the bottom of the page, and instead, closed the browser when they were done working.

Problem:

When you open a protocol, you see the message "Document locked for editing by..." at the top of the protocol page.

Solution:

First, confirm if the person who has locked the document is still working in it or not. If the person is no longer working in the protocol, you have three options to remove the lock:

  1. Contact the person who locked it and ask them to log into WVU+kc, open the protocol and close out of it by clicking the Close button at the bottom of the page.

  2. Wait 24 hours for the lock to expire on its own.

  3. If the document needs edited immediately and the person who locked the document is unavailable to close out of it properly, contact the ITS Service Desk or the Office of Research Integrity & Compliance and request that the pessimistic lock be removed for the protocol. Be sure to provide the protocol number in your request.

For additional information, check these categories in the Knowledge Base:

Human Subject Research Articles

Research Articles

Need assistance? See the following related services:

Research Requests

Research Administration Requests

 

Details

Article ID: 4312
Created
Tue 3/24/15 3:11 PM
Modified
Tue 9/12/17 4:03 PM

Related Articles (1)

Files (1)

pdf

Locked for Editing Message.pdf

7/10/2017 1:59:20 PM