Skip to Knowledge Base content

Don't Just Exit a WVU App. Log Off Completely!

Overview:

To ensure that faculty, staff, and student Login credentials are protected and access to WVU data is appropriate, Information Technology Services reminds all users to log off their smart phones, tablets, laptops and shared desktops instead of just exiting an application when finished with it.

Why should I log off my device or shared computer?

WVU’s transition to a “single sign-on” system for identity authentication means that faculty, staff and students now only need to enter their Login credentials one time to access multiple applications. However, please note that single sign-on does NOT mean single sign-off.

Some applications will store credentials, meaning you can log in again without providing your username and password a second time. And when you click “remember my password,” the browser will do so. This can be a source of concern for shared devices.

While you may think you have logged out of a particular application, your identity may still be established and available for other applications to use. Computer systems have no way to determine your intent. While you may have intended to log out of a certain application, the system cannot know whether you also intended to log out of the other applications.

For additional information, check these categories in the Knowledge Base:

Accounts & Access Articles

Security & Privacy Articles

Need assistance? See the following related services:

Security & Privacy Requests

 

Details

Article ID: 11131
Created
Wed 2/10/16 11:32 AM
Modified
Wed 7/12/17 10:22 AM