Skip to Knowledge Base content

Safely Access the WVU Portal on a Shared Computer

Overview:

If you regularly access the WVU Portal on a shared personal computer (for example, if you share a computer with your roommate), we recommend setting up a separate user account for each individual that uses the computer. Because the WVU Portal is designed to remember your credentials, closing the browser tab or even the browser window will not necessarily log you out. Accessing the WVU Portal through your own user account on the shared computer will ensure that others will not be able to view your information in the WVU Portal.

Alternatively, you can set your browser to automatically delete your browser cache every time you close your browser.

If you are using a public computer, be sure to always completely log out of the computer before leaving.

How do I create a new user account for my Windows computer?

Windows 10

Windows 8.1

Windows 7

How do I create a new user account for my Mac computer?

OS X Yosemite

OS X Mavericks

OS X Mountain Lion

What if I only need to use the shared computer once?

If you need to log into the WVU Portal on a shared computer once, you can use your browser's private browsing option to access the WVU Portal. For example, if you are a faculty member meeting with your students to discuss DegreeWorks, it will be quicker and more practical to have each student log into DegreeWorks in a private browsing window than setting up a user account for each student.

For additional information, check these categories in the Knowledge Base:

WVU Portal Articles

Academic Resource Articles

Need assistance? See the following related services:

Academic Systems Requests

Academic Resource Requests

 

 

Details

Article ID: 10266
Created
Fri 12/11/15 10:01 AM
Modified
Tue 5/9/17 10:21 AM