Changing the Visibility of a Product in Your eCommerce Storefront

Overview:

All items and services are considered "products" in the AbleCommerce software and belong to a category. Within the Able Commerce software, you can change the visibility of a product or category in the following ways:

  • You can hide a product when you need to stop further sales of a product or event ticket.
  • You can restore a product's visibility if it was previously hidden.
  • You can change the visibility of an entire category and its contents.

View a PDF for full details on setting up your eCommerce Store.

Instructions:

Hiding a Product:

  1. After logging in to your store, select the ADMIN icon link in the upper right corner.
  2. Select the CATALOG icon in the upper right corner.
  3. Find the product you wish to suspend sales for and click on it to edit it.
  4. Make sure you are viewing its Product Details.
  5. In the Display Options area, change Visibility to Hidden.
  6. Check the box next to Disable Purchase (in case a would-be purchaser has a direct link to the item).
  7. Select the Save icon at the top or bottom of the screen.

The product is no longer visible in your eCommerce storefront. Any links to the product would not allow a purchase to take place.

Displaying a Product (Making it visible):

  1. After logging in to your store, select the ADMIN icon link in the upper right corner.
  2. Select the CATALOG icon in the upper right corner.
  3. Find the product you wish to display and click on it to edit it.
  4. Make sure you are viewing its Product Details.
  5. In the Display Options area, change Visibility to Public.
  6. If Disable Purchase is checked, uncheck it.
  7. Select the Save icon at the top or bottom of the screen.

Changing the Visibility for an entire category:

  1. After logging in to your store, select the ADMIN icon link in the upper right corner.
  2. Select the CATALOG icon in the upper right corner.
  3. Click the VISIBILITY icon for a category.
  4. Choose the New Setting, Public or Hidden.
  5. For the setting Include Contents? choose Yes to change the visibility for a category and all its contents.
  6. Click Save.
 

Details

Article ID: 23030
Created
Fri 1/13/17 7:49 PM
Modified
Mon 9/20/21 4:14 PM