Delete Browser Cache Every Time You Close Your Browser

Overview:

To set up your browser to automatically delete your browser cache after every time you finish a browser session, find your browser below and follow the instructions.

Note: To ensure that the browser deletes the browser cache, make sure you close out of all browser windows.

Internet Explorer:

  1. Open Internet Explorer.

  2. Click on the gear icon in the top right corner.

  3. From the drop-down menu, click Internet options.

  4. Click in the checkbox for Delete browsing history on exit.

  5. Click Delete.

  6. Select all options, and click Delete.

  7. Click OK.

Firefox:

  1. Open Firefox.

  2. From the toolbar, click on Tools and then Options.

  3. Click Privacy.

  4. From the Firefox will field under History, select Use custom settings for history.

  5. Check the box next to Clear history when Firefox closes.

  6. A Settings button will appear. Click the button and then select all options.

  7. Click OK.

Chrome:

  1. Go to chrome://settings/content.

  2. Click Keep local data only until I quit my browser.

  3. Click Done.

Note: Chrome installs system tools to maintain sessions when the browser is closed. Uninstallation may be required.

Safari:

There is currently no option in Safari to clear the browser cache upon exiting the browser. As an alternative, you can browse in a private window. This will prevent Safari from collecting website data.

 

Details

Article ID: 10270
Created
Fri 12/11/15 11:49 AM
Modified
Thu 12/27/18 3:23 PM

Related Articles (1)